Snow?
Local
Radar
Cold?
IGNORED

Storm Report Surrey May 13th

Lightning Ed

Posted
  • Weather Preferences: Still/Hot or extremes. Fog/Damp etc boring...

What an evening! I set off to brighton at around 10pm ish, as I was curious to see weather the storms from France would move over. I'm no expert and didnt think to check radar before considering this. Needless to say it was soon to be a waste of time, and I arrived back home two hours later. Just my friend and I were carrying all our gear back in, we saw a local flash to us, so upto the highest local area, and there we had it - our own locally grown storm. EXCELLENT! the view from the north downs was fantastic. With a decent CG strike every few minutes for the first time in my life I got some decent lightning photos - a dream fulfulled. It lasted for around an hour or so where it drifted off over to essex way and died. I saw the thing from its begging to the end and what a wonderfull night time show.

I hope you enjoy these pics :) I may also have some video but these images still say it well.

http://www.edsworld.co.uk/weather/lightning/may13/

Until next time...

Ed

Posted

Same storm that hit me to above post. About 1:30 ish great lightning show before suddenly ending very locolised one tho as some people i know said that they didnt get anything a few miles away

Posted
  • Location: Caterham-on-the-hill, Surrey, 190m asl (home), Heathrow (work)
  • Location: Caterham-on-the-hill, Surrey, 190m asl (home), Heathrow (work)

Thunder and a brief downpour around 6.30am, though the main core of the storm passed to the South of Colchester.

Sun coming out now, some convection in the distance:

Posted

Thanks it was my first stom of the year (worth noting anyway)! Heres to the rest of them!

Posted
  • Weather Preferences: Snow!