Snow?
Local
Radar
Cold?
IGNORED

Beginners Book Suggestions.

Posted

Hi all,

I've just set up my 1st weather station in my garden (Lacrosse 2300), and while I have some VERY basic weather knowledge, I am keen to learn more.

Can anyone recommend any good books on weather and weather forcasting suitable for someone with my limited knowledge?

Cheers

Matt.

Posted

May sound silly to some but I have a book that I used to get excited over called the weather by Usbourne - a spotters guide. I spent hours writing the whole book (especially on thunderstorms and more so hurricanes) out on A4 paper!!!

Here is the link on amazon although I can't find a picture of it ...

http://www.amazon.co.uk/exec/obidos/ASIN/0...product-details

Posted

I've got a bookcase shelf full of meteorology textbooks and other weather books, from teaching and a long interest in the weather, but the one book I use on a regular basis is the Collins "gem Weather". It is a tiny thing, one of the smallest books you will ever buy, but for the clarity of images and depth of explanation, it is the best value weather book I have ever invested in. To get a better cloud atlas, with good explanations alone, you could pay £50. This little beauty is about a fiver from any decent bookshop.

.......and no, I've never written for Collins, honest!

Posted
May sound silly to some but I have a book that I used to get excited over called the weather by Usbourne - a spotters guide. I spent hours writing the whole book (especially on thunderstorms and more so hurricanes) out on A4 paper!!!

Here is the link on amazon although I can't find a picture of it ...

http://www.amazon.co.uk/exec/obidos/ASIN/0...product-details

OMG. I remember that book. I really loved it when i was young and it got me interested in the weather.

I remember it was whitish with a balloon on the back and quite thick?

Posted
  • Weather Preferences: Anything Extreme!

Hope this is allowed...

I have a weather book on Ebay at the moment