Snow?
Local
Radar
Cold?
IGNORED

Banana Plant Flowering And Fruiting In The Uk!

Posted

I thought you might be interested to see my banana plant which is now coming into flower. It is the Japanese Hardy Banana, Musa basjoo. I have been growing it successfully outside for approx 13 years and have always wondered if it will flower. This particular plant has been planted in the ground since 1999 but I do have a few growing outside.

It is root hardy but if you want to keep the trunks over winter, you ideally need to wrap a bit of straw or hesian around the trunks after the first Autumn frosts (although this winter I didn't get round to wrapping it u untill January and then I only used an old sack)

When I took the sacks of the trunks in April one of them looked a bit different to the others and the top was swollen and hard. It soon became obvious that it had a developing flower bud which must have initiated during the warm Autumn months. Anyway, the flower is just beginning to opem but I think the first few were damaged by the winter frosts.

Here are some photos and I will add more as it grows!

post-703-1150648880_thumb.jpg

post-703-1150648987_thumb.jpg

Posted

You lucky so and so!

I had a banana plant for around 5 years when until about a year ago

in my conservatory but never got a flower just leaves :p :lol:

So last year i gave up and planted it outside and then it died so i gave up!

Much like my lemon tree :lol: :lol:

Oh well the strawberries and corn will have to do!

That looks cool! Im really jealous!

Edited by Matty M

• 3 weeks later...
Posted