Snow?
Local
Radar
Cold?
IGNORED

Autumn And Winter Lrfs

Posted

17ºC - brisk SW'ly winds, sharp showers and the daffodils budding.

We're probably talking January 2007 - here we go again!

Please continue posting your thoughts here :)

Posted

Summer, thanks for your post from the locked thread. Interesting about the size of the polar cell, but I'm no expert on the effect that may have on the coming winter and the effect may be random.

An big El Nino event would probably lead to the warmest year ever recorded, globally, in 2007. It did in 1998, 2005 equalled it (actually exceeded it, but there was no statistical difference) and there was no El Nino. An El Nino in 2006/7 would mean that the UK would be slightly less likely to get a colder than average winter; probably only a 1 in 7 chance, rather than a 1 in 5 chance. In my opinion, of course.

Paul

Posted
  • Location: Leeds/Bradford border, 185 metres above sea level, around 600 feet
  • Location: Leeds/Bradford border, 185 metres above sea level, around 600 feet

Dawlish, i think that the size of the Polar Cell this year backs up what Brickfielder was saying about a late spring possibly leading to an early buildup of cold, obviously there is still time for the effect to be negated.

Posted
  • Location: Sheffield South Yorkshire 160M Powering the Sheffield Shield
  • Weather Preferences: Any Extreme
  • Location: Sheffield South Yorkshire 160M Powering the Sheffield Shield

Interesting looking at the graph. They don't do badly at predicting do they okay theres one or two bad misses but not bad overall.

Posted
  • Location: Abingdon - 55m ASL - Capital of The Central Southern England Corridor of Winter Convectionlessness
  • Weather Preferences: Winter: Snow>Freezing Fog; Summer: Sun>Daytime Storms
  • Location: Abingdon - 55m ASL - Capital of The Central Southern England Corridor of Winter Convectionlessness
17ºC - brisk SW'ly winds, sharp showers and the daffodils budding.

Or summer in Scotland?