Snow?
Local
Radar
Cold?
IGNORED

The Gulf stream....

Posted

If for example the amount of fresh water far outweighed the amount of salt water and this stopped the Gulf-stream, what would we expect?

Should we expect weather like Norway ??? And would we get fewer westerlies?!

Thanks, DB :)

Posted
  • Weather Preferences: Hot & Thundery or Cold & Snowy

Thats what i've been debating to myself the last year or so, i reckon it would but then i'm no professional :) but the rate that fresh water is going into the sea's i think its quite possible, and might do enough to give us a different climate e.g. I think if it did we would still get quite warm summers but winters would be very cold.

Posted
  • Location: Leeds/Bradford border, 185 metres above sea level, around 600 feet

I also believe that it is very possible and upto 2004, the strength of the return flow was dropping at something like 3% per year i believe, which is quite worrying personally, it it were to happen, the result would be a much more southerly tracking Jet Stream, causing colder and dryer winters, and cooler and wetter summers.]

The main problem is, as the effect would be most pronounced in winter, we may not even know what was happening, we would just get gradually colder and longer winter spells, until one year, summer never really arrived at all.

Within a few years of this event happening, we would see glaciers forming in the Scotish, Welsh and English peaks, gradually encrouching to lower levels, however the most scary thing is, that natural cycles indicate that we are heading back towards the next Ice Age, in around 1000 years, we are supposed to be seeing a net cooling anyway assuming global warming does not affect this, so paradoxically, we could affectively just beat the rest of the world into the next Ice Age by a millenia.

Posted
  • Weather Preferences: Snow , thunderstorms and wind

If this were to happen our temps would drop by up to 5C. Our climate would be like Canada.