Snow?
Local
Radar
Cold?
IGNORED

Help required

Charltonkerry

Posted

I am an industrial refrigeration designer, who is looking to design a very energy efficient industrial refrigeration system (If you are interested 1000kW of cooling with a room temperature of 1°C) to keep energy consumption to a minimum I have decided to use an evaporative condenser (Condenses hot high pressure gas into a relatively low temperature but still high pressure liquid refrigerant) by a combination of air and water being sprayed over a series of tubes.

Whilst I know the maximum wet bulb temperatures for certain cities within the UK, I would like to find the following info:

1. When do the high wet bulb temperatures occur i.e. is it a hot summers afternoon just before a storm or could it be a muggy winters night. From a personnel point of view info such as when and why the wet bulb varies would be interesting i.e. in summer is it possible to have low wet bulb temperature and if so how and why?

2. Is there somewhere (I tried the met office & typing in wet bulb in google search) i can see a graph of a typical year of wet bulb temperature for an area of the UK, i.e I am trying to find out how much it varies and would like to know the maximum, minimum and the mean for a town in the UK. All this is information is readily available for dry bulb temperature.

3. If somebody has a simple explaination of wet bulb temperature that could be understood by non technical people this would also help me.

Thanking you in advance for any assistance anyone can offer, also apologising in advanced if i have posted this in the wrong topic.

Regards

Kerry

Posted
  • Weather Preferences: Anything extreme

The wet bulb temperature is basically a measure of evaporative cooling and varies according to the relative humidity of the air.