Snow?
Local
Radar
Cold?
IGNORED

Can you spot the trend in this data?

snowsure

Posted

Most people would admit under oath that they probably look at the preferred outcome of a data set before drawing their conclusions. So, thought I, why not ask people's opinion of trends in a graph without declaring what the data set is drawn from?

I will declare that it looks at changes in temperature (degree Celsius) from one data entry to the next. I will not declare at this stage what the time interval is between data entries.

This may be uncomfortable for some of you as it could, perhaps, expose you as a sympathiser for "the other side."

I will post, on Thursday 23rd, the source of the data.

Please tell me if you think that the megatrend is positive, negative or if there is no obvious trend.

post-306-1187712482_thumb.jpg

Posted
  • Weather Preferences: Storms storms and more storms

As an analyst I would say that the megatrend is just about positive.

Posted
There are methods to mathematically determine correlation, so what people perceive it to be is really irrelevant from a scientific standpoint.

looks like a slight warming

Posted
  • Weather Preferences: Hot & Sunny, Cold & Snowy

I think you're a trickster and it is a 'sunshine plot' for Formby last wednesday........

Posted
I think you're a trickster and it is a 'sunshine plot' for Formby last wednesday........

You scallywag, you. :)

The timescale is appropriate for the discussion of climate change (IMO) and the region covered as well as the source of the data will stand be classed, by most, as acceptable.

Does Formby have such a "wild" variation of sunshine over a day/week/month/season/year/decade/century...

Posted
There are methods to mathematically determine correlation, so what people perceive it to be is really irrelevant from a scientific standpoint.

Yes - but isn't that what he's trying to show - it's about perception not mathematics

Posted

CET - 30 yrs ?????????????????????????????????????

Posted