Snow?
Local
Radar
Cold?
IGNORED

Davis Vantage Pro2 Cabled on order

Posted

I've recently placed an order for a Davis VP2 Cabled weather station. Very excited about it, always been into the weather but never been organised enough to record it! Being a farmer I really should do better and hopefully I soon will. I will be stting up live weather using the data logger when I get myself organised so any one near me in Watchet Somerset UK will be able to get some live readings!

I was wondering if anyone can give me some good advice on location for the sensor suite. Clearly the temp wants to be out of the sun, but the anenometer and the rain guage need to be free from obstruction. Anyone got any good ideas, bearing in mind I've gone for the cabled machine and the restrictions that brings.

Is the computer software easy to use - I want to link it to my existing farming website. Will this be easy to do? It will be useful also because we have family all around the world who will be able to check on our weather 24/7.

Any thoughts would be appreciated.

MD

Posted

I used to have a cabled VP2 and you can extend the cables a long way, so the only real limiting factor is the route the cable takes...making sure it doesn't get driven over etc.

As for the siting of the sensor suite, I wouldn't worry at all about placing it in the sun as the radiation shield is really pretty effective and on all but the calmest days it ensures enough air is being blown over the sensor to prevent it heating up too much. In fact, making sure it's in the open and has good air circulation is more important than keeping it out of the sun I'd say. You also ensure the rain gauge isn't sheltered so your rainfall amounts are correct.