Snow?
Local
Radar
Cold?
IGNORED

How Do You Spot Uncertainty In Weather Forecasts?

PeggySue

Posted

Hi,

My aim in life is to be able to predict 2 or 3 days in advance if I am going to get wet while walking on Dartmoor! We all know that weather forecasts are uncertain but, apart from the ensembles, forecasts don't come with a measure of confidence interval. The NMM model is pretty good at predicting the general regions that will receive precipitation but the extent of the rain and the timing can be wrong in either direction. I'm new to this game but I get the sense that in some cases you can be certain 2 days ahead that a particular weather pattern will hit a given place within a given small window in time but in other cases you can't be sure of the timing or even of the event happening at all.

Does anyone have any tips on how to divine the confidence in precipitation forecasts please? E.g. Look at these charts and if you see these patterns you can be sure that it will rain within two hours of the given time. Or look at these charts and if you see these patterns you can be sure that the event or its timing are anyone's guess!

Many thanks.

Posted
  • Weather Preferences: Anything extreme

There are so many potential synoptic situations its difficult to give a definitve answer to your question but as a rule of thumb I'd suggest the following;

If the situation is a very mobile westerly with a succession of depressions moving in from the Atlantic and a strong, flattish jet stream it's possible, by looking at a short succession of charts, to work out the speed of the approaching rain bearing fronts and extrapolate forward to calculate the estimated time of arrival at your location. There's always the occasional situation where a depression speeds up or slows down but generally speaking you could be accurate to within a couple of hours with this set up.