Snow?
Local
Radar
Cold?
IGNORED

What DSLR?

Posted

Helppp lol. I plan to get a new dslr very soon, But trying to decide is a nightmare. can anyone sugest anything.... all I really want is good images and long zoom.

Posted

Morning jello, what is your budget?

Posted

hi hi, Probs be around £600 maybe little more, but really if there is any cheaper ones that would do just as good then that would be a bonus.

Posted

Well, lots of choice for you out there. I prefer Canon and would probably go for a 500D and another lens as a kit. You could squeeze to a 550D for that but would be stuck with just the standard 18-55mm lens that comes with it.

Of course, Nikon, Panasonic and Sony have some great alternatives, but I have no experience of them

Posted
  • Weather Preferences: Lots of snow, lots of hot sun

All I can suggest is you'll have to invest a significant amount of time on reading on line reviews, because when it comes to photography it really is the case that one man's nectar is another man's poison. Here's a few links to get started:

http://www.steves-digicams.com/best-cameras.html

http://www.whatdigitalcamera.com/

http://www.cameras.co.uk/html/digital-camera-reviews.cfm

http://www.dpreview.com/

Just as an aside, here's two pics I took recently using a 'bridge' camera, a Fuji S1850 18x zoom, of Ferrybridge and other power stations 35 miles to my east:

post-2239-094587900 1289826106_thumb.jpg

post-2239-052615100 1289826107_thumb.jpg

Posted

What sort of stuff are you going to be photographing? Have you already got some experience with a smaller compact digital camera?

These guys have some ideas: http://uk.answers.yahoo.com/question/index?qid=20090902072903AAyeJ0h

Posted

With SLRs it's good to be familiar with using full manual mode to get the best from them.

As in the examples above you don't need SLR nowadays to get good results on a long zoom.