Snow?
Local
Radar
Cold?
IGNORED

Selecting A Weather Station For Web Based Display

Hi,

I'm new to all this. The weather station closest to us has shut down, and I thought I'd look into the possibility of setting up my own weather station. Looking at what's available, all the ones I've found seem to have a sensor "pole" or other assembly, and a display unit that fits inside a building and displays the results. I don't need the display unit, since my primary interest is to create a weather web site for our village. In any case, I sit in front of a computer all day, and it would be more convenient for me to look at the weather on my computer screen than to go and look at the display unit. Also, surely, this should be substantially cheaper.

Is there a sensor unit that will talk directly to a PC, with some associated software that runs on the PC to keep history, convert units, display graphs and all that? It needs to offer all the normal sensors - temperature, humidity, wind speed and direction, pressure, rainfall, solar radiation etc.

I don't mind having the PC running 24/7 - it does this already...

Thanks - Rowan

Posted

Hi,

I'm new to all this. The weather station closest to us has shut down, and I thought I'd look into the possibility of setting up my own weather station. Looking at what's available, all the ones I've found seem to have a sensor "pole" or other assembly, and a display unit that fits inside a building and displays the results. I don't need the display unit, since my primary interest is to create a weather web site for our village. In any case, I sit in front of a computer all day, and it would be more convenient for me to look at the weather on my computer screen than to go and look at the display unit. Also, surely, this should be substantially cheaper.