Local
Radar
Cold?
IGNORED

Does the migration of certain birds species really indicate the weather

Jan

Posted
  • Weather Preferences: Any extreme weather conditions

Waxwings have been spotted in suburban gardens here on Merseyside and a record number of Whooper swans have descended on Martin Mere in West Lancs, with more expected. I wondered if this is an indication of a severe winter. Does anybody know if it's true or is it an old wives tale?

Posted
  • Location: Mostly Watford but 3 months of the year at Capestang 34310, France
  • Weather Preferences: Continental type climate with lots of sunshine with occasional storm
  • Location: Mostly Watford but 3 months of the year at Capestang 34310, France

I am no expert but I think it indicates that the conditions where they have come from are quite severe, for example in Scandinavia and northern Russia at the moment, so, especially if they can get a favourable wind, they head for 'greener' pastures where more food is available.

There may be a certain amount of truth in our winters being more severe because, if, as per my example, the Scandinavian/northern Russia winter is severe, there is always a chance of the cold overspilling to reach our area with the right synoptics.

Posted
  • Weather Preferences: Any extreme weather conditions

I never thought of it like that, not being twitcher. I don't get birds in my garden as there are far too many cats around. The Waxwing looks like a lovely looking bird I would be mortified if I put food out and the cats got it. Will have to see if we do get a severe winter then

Posted