Snow?
Local
Radar
Cold?
IGNORED

Maplin's Weather Station for Newbie

Posted
  • Weather Preferences: Cold and snowy

Hi I'm a student so can't spend a lot on a weather station could anyone recommend this maplins station I mean is it worth buying, would it last any length of time and would it be reliable enough. I don't want to spend £70 if it's going to be junk.

http://www.maplin.co.uk/p/silver-usb-wireless-touchscreen-weather-forecaster-n96fy

thanks  

I've had mine for a few months now, and it's been working well. It's easy to put together and get up and running, you just need to find somewhere high to put it that isn't sheltered if you are overly worried about your wind speed estimates. Most of the readings it shows correspond quite closely with the other weather stations in the town, bar the outdoor temperature, which always seems a degree or two too high during the day, but that would be my only complaint. I don't know how long they will last, but mine has been up for months and I haven't had to repair anything yet.

It comes with a software so that you can see your history data on your laptop/computer. It's not the best software, but it does the job. If you display the data in a graph, it will show what the conditions were every 30 minutes on that actual moment, and I have yet to figure out if you can change that. It just means I'm unable to see daily high temperatures, unless it occured on the actal 30 minute mark, or I was lucky enough to catch it on the tablet.

If you want something very reliable, then I wouldn't get this, but if you are happy with a reasonably small error margin, but something that isn't perfect, I'd say this isn't a bad buy. :)

Posted