Jump to content
Snow?
Local
Radar
Cold?
IGNORED

How strong is your password?


Paul

Recommended Posts

Posted
  • Location: Colchester, Essex, UK (33m ASL)
  • Location: Colchester, Essex, UK (33m ASL)

Just little note on one way to make a pretty strong password. 

Pick a word (preferably in a other language) or the name of a city, that you can easily remember and over 6 letters. 

Eg, helsinki

Now split that word in two. 

Eg, hels inki

Capitalise one or more letters

Eg, helS inki

Add a memorable date however you wish in between those two. Use any date form you wish, yyyy, dd/mm/yyyy, dd/mm/yy etc. (Not a big anniversary such as birth etc, something else but one that you remember) 

Eg, helS24575inki

Add one or more non numeral/alphabet characters. 

Eg, helS24575%inki©$

Breaking a password down in this way makes it easier to remember, but follows the rules of having small case, capitals, numbers and special characters. 

How to remember? 

My chosen city is helsinki with a capital S, my date is as a percentage after the S, its all copyright, and makes dollars! 

Make it unique to you, and constructed in a way you will remember, it doesn't have to be the same format as above, can be a way you create. 

And no, it's not my password, don't bother trying 😁

Edited by SnowBear
Spelling
  • Thanks 2
Link to comment
Share on other sites

Posted
  • Location: Dorset
  • Weather Preferences: warehamwx.co.uk
  • Location: Dorset

I just use a password manager now. I have crazy-long passwords for every site I use that requires them, and don't have to remember them.

  • Insightful 1
Link to comment
Share on other sites

Posted
  • Location: Sheffield South Yorkshire 160M Powering the Sheffield Shield
  • Weather Preferences: Any Extreme
  • Location: Sheffield South Yorkshire 160M Powering the Sheffield Shield
On 27/01/2023 at 23:02, Mapantz said:

I just use a password manager now. I have crazy-long passwords for every site I use that requires them, and don't have to remember them.

As long as you don't use lastpass

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Posted
  • Location: Solihull, West Midlands. - 131 m asl
  • Weather Preferences: Sun, Snow and Storms
  • Location: Solihull, West Midlands. - 131 m asl
On 27/01/2023 at 23:02, Mapantz said:

I just use a password manager now. I have crazy-long passwords for every site I use that requires them, and don't have to remember them.

All well and good Mapantz...

(I too use a password manager)

But how do you transfer over to a new PC, when your current one is outdated?.

MIne is still good and quick (Windows 10), but I cannot upgrade to Windows 11, as I have an HP with Intel chips.

I have just found out that currently Microsoft will not let me upgrade due to the Intel chips.

I understand that it will require an upgrade from Intel first,  and they have as yet not shown any interest.

By the way you can get new  Intel based ones to load Windows 11 from new!! (which is the reason that ask the question).

MIA    

Edited by Midlands Ice Age
  • Like 1
Link to comment
Share on other sites

Posted
  • Location: Dorset
  • Weather Preferences: warehamwx.co.uk
  • Location: Dorset
1 hour ago, Midlands Ice Age said:

But how do you transfer over to a new PC, when your current one is outdated?.

It's cloud-based, so it works across all your devices. 😃

1 hour ago, Midlands Ice Age said:

I have just found out that currently Microsoft will not let me upgrade due to the Intel chips.

What motherboard/CPU are you using?

TPM 2.0 might be in your BIOS, but disabled. Mine was when I was using an MSI z590 motherboard, so I enabled it in the BIOS which allowed me to upgrade to Windows 11.

Since then, I upgraded to a z690 motherboard with an i5 13600K CPU, and TPM 2.0 is automatically enabled.

  • Like 1
Link to comment
Share on other sites

Posted
  • Location: Sheffield South Yorkshire 160M Powering the Sheffield Shield
  • Weather Preferences: Any Extreme
  • Location: Sheffield South Yorkshire 160M Powering the Sheffield Shield
2 hours ago, Midlands Ice Age said:

But how do you transfer over to a new PC, when your current one is outdated?.

MIne is still good and quick (Windows 10), but I cannot upgrade to Windows 11, as I have an HP with Intel chips.

I have just found out that currently Microsoft will not let me upgrade due to the Intel chips.

I understand that it will require an upgrade from Intel first,  and they have as yet not shown any interest.

By the way you can get new  Intel based ones to load Windows 11 from new!! (which is the reason that ask the question).

MIA    

I've got a few pc's running windows 11 which aren't compatible. Its pretty easy to do just do a quick google.

  • Like 1
Link to comment
Share on other sites

  • 1 month later...
Posted
  • Location: Glasnevin Latitude: 53°22′49″ N Longitude: 6°15′51″ W Elevation above sea level: 40 m = 131 ft
  • Weather Preferences: Storms, NLC
  • Location: Glasnevin Latitude: 53°22′49″ N Longitude: 6°15′51″ W Elevation above sea level: 40 m = 131 ft
On 19/01/2023 at 12:14, Skullzrulerz said:

For added security, would it be possible for some time in the future for the option of two factor authentication?

This can now be bypassed.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!

Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.

Sign In Now
×
×
  • Create New...