Snow?
Local
Radar
Cold?
IGNORED

Sunset advice needed

Posted

Hi All,

I'm Anna, a new user here. This might be an unusual post, but I'm not a weather expert and I need some advice. I'm a filmmaker shooting a fictional short film in the Bromley (London)/Kent area on the last weekend of April. Seeing the sunset sky, hopefully with vibrant colours, is important to the story. We're currently scouting locations and I'm wondering if anyone can advise on what to consider when picking the right place to shoot. Is it as simple as finding somewhere with a view to the west?

Also, is the best time to get the most interesting sky colours after the sun has gone below the horizon? How long does this window typically last at the end of April?

I'd be immensely grateful for any tips, suggestions, or knowledge you can share. Thank you in advance!

Posted

If the weather from the last 12 months is anything to go by you have no chance. The sun is as rare as snow LOL!

Posted
  • Weather Preferences: Snow in winter, thunderstorms, warmth, sun any time!
17 hours ago, AnnaFilm said:

Also, is the best time to get the most interesting sky colours after the sun has gone below the horizon? How long does this window typically last at the end of April?

I often hunt for good sunsets; usually if you have golden hour if it's clear or the sun pops out close to horizon below cloud starting an hour ish before sunset can get some nice warm colours.

For the afterglow you typically need high cloud, say just before a cold front clears from the west, and about 10-30 minutes after the sun has set can produce some vibrant colours, however there can be different set ups and still produce amazing colours, it's quite unpredictable. The best way to get some idea a few hours beforehand is to check the satellite on the Meteociel website shortly before (https://www.meteociel.fr/observations-meteo/satellite.php?region=uk&mode=animation-visible-royaume-uni).