Snow?
Local
Radar
Cold?
IGNORED

Nwp Observational Data Assimilation

Evo

Posted

I'd best start this off with a disclaimer - I'm not an expert in any of the following so some, or all, of it may be pish!

I've been pondering the issue of model data assimilation since looking at the Kalnay book I mentioned in John Holmes' pinned GFS data thread and reading J07s interesting contribution in that thread.

In the book there are a couple of maps showing the actual observations incorporated into a particular GFS run. It's only recently dawned on me that the observations that are assimilated into the analysis forecast (which forms the basis of the model run) vary by quantity and location from run to run. There is a much higher density of observations near human habitation - which seems intuitive. The main area that attracted my attention, though, was Greenland. There was a scant amount of data input from this region on that particular run.

The potential sources that data can be assimilated from can be summarised as:

i) Land (surface) based observations - both manual and automatic

ii) Sea (surface and sub-surface) observations - such as buoy data

iii) Ascents - observers on land or at sea release 1-2 balloons a day per location

iv) Aircraft - automated and manual observations

v) Satellite - remote sensing of wind and temperature, radiance and vapour