Jump to content
IGNORED

Davis AirLink


Recommended Posts

Posted
  • Location: Sheffield South Yorkshire 160M Powering the Sheffield Shield
  • Weather Preferences: Any Extreme
  • Location: Sheffield South Yorkshire 160M Powering the Sheffield Shield

So new not even mentioned on their website. Well I'm interested in it.

 

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Posted
  • Location: Skirlaugh, East Yorkshire
  • Location: Skirlaugh, East Yorkshire

I am too. It looks like its a totally independent unit using weatherlink and records temp/humidity too so quite useful as a backup station.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

  • 4 weeks later...
Posted
  • Location: Poole, Dorset 42m ASL
  • Location: Poole, Dorset 42m ASL

Has it arrived yet? I must try and look at mine this weekend, had it for two weeks unboxed and went , hmmm, need to fiddle and get it connected into WD and see what it returns.

  • Like 1
Link to comment
Share on other sites

Posted
  • Location: Dorset
  • Weather Preferences: warehamwx.co.uk
  • Location: Dorset

Yep - All set up Db! It only took a couple of minutes to get it up an running.

I set up a free account with Weatherlink so the data could be seen there and it's showing up on the phone app fine.

I've also got a test version of Cumulus MX running with the AirLink network IP address connected, and that is pulling the data in every 1 minute. I should have the data points on my website later.

  • Like 1
Link to comment
Share on other sites

Posted
  • Location: Dorset
  • Weather Preferences: warehamwx.co.uk
  • Location: Dorset
8 hours ago, Dorsetbred said:

@Mapantz, looks good, is it inside or outside. Mine is inside and hardly varies..

I fitted mine outside to a North-facing wall. Luckily, I have a small window to a cupboard there which allowed me to power it up easily.

I may move it in the future. You can buy up to a 20m extension cable quite cheaply, and then put the two joined DC jack/adaptor in to a small waterproof junction box.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Posted
  • Location: Sheffield South Yorkshire 160M Powering the Sheffield Shield
  • Weather Preferences: Any Extreme
  • Location: Sheffield South Yorkshire 160M Powering the Sheffield Shield

That Cumulusmx version allows you to connect two stations?

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Posted
  • Location: Dorset
  • Weather Preferences: warehamwx.co.uk
  • Location: Dorset
20 minutes ago, The PIT said:

That Cumulusmx version allows you to connect two stations?

No. That's not possible, unfortunately.

Cumulus MX can pull in data from WiFi connected add-ons that supply an API, whilst pulling data from a station connected via USB.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Posted
  • Location: Sheffield South Yorkshire 160M Powering the Sheffield Shield
  • Weather Preferences: Any Extreme
  • Location: Sheffield South Yorkshire 160M Powering the Sheffield Shield

Hi so yes then two stations if you call Air Link a station

Link to comment
Share on other sites

  • 2 weeks later...
Posted
  • Location: Dorset
  • Weather Preferences: warehamwx.co.uk
  • Location: Dorset

AirLink working well!

Folks around here starting up their fires..

881998624_Screenshot2020-10-11164708.thumb.png.810038367d0203d504bcf6be2ce5b097.png

 

Edited by Mapantz
  • Like 1
Link to comment
Share on other sites

  • 1 year later...
Posted
  • Location: Sheffield South Yorkshire 160M Powering the Sheffield Shield
  • Weather Preferences: Any Extreme
  • Location: Sheffield South Yorkshire 160M Powering the Sheffield Shield

Anybody else had problems with the airlink not updating weatherlink.com yet talking to cumulus perfectly happily?

I also had to blow out the sensor with compressed air as it was suddenly reading 4k of particles. There seems to be fan which blows over the sensor so it could well be rubbish that's got in or the fan is on it's way out. I've got the reading back down to sensible levels now so just left with the communications issue

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Posted
  • Location: Dorset
  • Weather Preferences: warehamwx.co.uk
  • Location: Dorset

I don't use weatherlink so I can't add anything to those issues. Have you set up the mesh screen on your Airlink? That was the first thing I did before installing it.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Posted
  • Location: Sheffield South Yorkshire 160M Powering the Sheffield Shield
  • Weather Preferences: Any Extreme
  • Location: Sheffield South Yorkshire 160M Powering the Sheffield Shield
On 29/11/2021 at 19:08, Mapantz said:

I don't use weatherlink so I can't add anything to those issues. Have you set up the mesh screen on your Airlink? That was the first thing I did before installing it.

Nope they instructions say not to do that. I was expecting a big spider to have taken residence but nope so I guess it was general dirt working fine now so will need to clean it out probably every six months or so.  Weatherlink issues seem to be fixed by changing the bandwidth on my wireless router from 20hz and 40 mhz to just 20mhz. Still doesn't make sense while it was fine on the local network though. Anyway since I made the change there hasn't been any gaps in the data at weatherlink.

WWW.SHEFFIELDWEATHER.NET

Weather graphs for Sheffield South Yorkshire for the last 24 hours

 

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Posted
  • Location: Dorset
  • Weather Preferences: warehamwx.co.uk
  • Location: Dorset
On 01/12/2021 at 20:34, The PIT said:

Nope they instructions say not to do that.

I don't think I have seen that?

It says on mine that if insects are a problem, use the mesh screen.

It may have an impact on accuracy, but I haven't noticed any impact, even after 14 months of use.

Edited by Mapantz
Link to comment
Share on other sites

Posted
  • Location: Sheffield South Yorkshire 160M Powering the Sheffield Shield
  • Weather Preferences: Any Extreme
  • Location: Sheffield South Yorkshire 160M Powering the Sheffield Shield
On 01/12/2021 at 20:41, Mapantz said:

I don't think I have seen that?

It says on mine that if insects are a problem, use the mesh screen.

It may have an impact on accuracy, but I haven't noticed any impact, even after 14 months of use.

That's what I meant. Fairly pointless if it's going to affect the readings. Bit like saying if you turn the Stevenson screen round so it faces the sun you'll find it easier to read the thermometers but it may effect accuracy.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Posted
  • Location: Dorset
  • Weather Preferences: warehamwx.co.uk
  • Location: Dorset
On 03/12/2021 at 18:36, The PIT said:

That's what I meant. Fairly pointless if it's going to affect the readings. Bit like saying if you turn the Stevenson screen round so it faces the sun you'll find it easier to read the thermometers but it may effect accuracy.

It will only affect readings if the mesh gets clogged up. I check mine quite often, so its not a problem. The mesh on its own isn't going to affect the readings, otherwise, Davis wouldn't include it with the Airlink..

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!

Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.

Sign In Now
×
×
  • Create New...