Snow?
Local
Radar
Cold?
IGNORED

Radiating Dendrite Winter Forecast

Posted
  • Weather Preferences: January 1987 / July 2006

Well I have decided to dip my toes into the water and issue my own LRF for winter.

Please be gentle with me is something is not quite accurate, I am new to this game.

I will try and answer any questions you may have smile.png

Please note that I struggled to upload the images, these are available to view in the download at the bottom of the page (CFS Data.doc).

Winter Forecast:

Current state of play:

Low Solar Activity (compared to what has been the case during previous cycles). Activity is increasing though as we build up towards the maximum, but despite this I believe that a lag effect is experienced and the build up in activity will not influence the atmosphere until later on next year. With this in mind, the troposphere will continue to be cooler than normal; this it is believed leads to a greater frequency of Northern blocking and a more southerly tracking Jet Stream.

QBO is currently negative and east based (this strengthening) with a Negative QBO tending to lead to increased blocking, and colder weather through the January and February winter months. However, recent models have shown it may become less easterly with time through the winter, possibly becoming positive as well. A positive QBO which is west based is usually associated with boosting the La Nina, generally leading to a milder end to winter, with a more active Atlantic with increased zonality.

La Nina is predicted to strengthen during the winter, but should not become as strong as we saw last winter, as seen in the chart below:

As we can see though, this is not “nailed”, with the strength still ranging from strong to weak, depending on what models you look at. I think the only sensible thing to do is use the average for this forecast and base any predictions on the average that is currently being shown/predicted.