Thunder?
Local
Radar
Hot?
IGNORED

The East/West split coming up next week

carled

Posted

So I'm only a novice and I don't understand quite how there is going to be such a huge variation in weather over such a short distance. There's all sorts of excitement in the forecast model discussion about upcoming 32C on Tuesday but...

As at 10am on Saturday 10th, the BBC forecast has the following for Tuesday:

• 20C and rain for Newquay
  • 22C Sunshine/Showers for Exeter
  • 26C and bright sunshine for Bristol

That's, what? 100km spread approx?  In metereological terms that doesn't seem that significant.  I realise that with any weather system there's got to be a metaphorical "edge" somewhere but even so, that seems to be an amazing variation in a short distance.  Is it purely to do with the positioning of the low pressure off to the SW that is affecting the incursion of warmth from the continent?  If so, how likely is it to shift any more?  If, for example, it shifts another 100km east, does that then affect the midlands or is it not as simple as that? 

Posted
Just now, cheese said:

Cornwall and Devon don't usually get very hot during heatwaves. 

Er... ok. Doesn't really explain much, but fair enough.  I presume this is for geographical as opposed to poltical reasons? ;-)

Posted
  • Weather Preferences: snow, heat, thunderstorms
Just now, carled said:

Er... ok. Doesn't really explain much, but fair enough.  I presume this is for geographical as opposed to poltical reasons? ;-)

If you look at the GFS chart for 2pm on Tuesday you'll see that the centre of the low is close to Cornwall, so that region is affected by rain - if the centre of the low was further west you'd probably see an improvement. 

Posted
  • Weather Preferences: Winter: Cold & Snowy, Summer: Just not hot
21 minutes ago, carled said: